Home » History » Miltary Mystery: WWI 1919 Atlanta Infantry Drill

Miltary Mystery: WWI 1919 Atlanta Infantry Drill

Infantry Drill - Atlanta 1919 A few days ago while researching my Ancestor Sgt. Pierce DORSEY I discovered a Memorial Day Mystery post that caught my interest.

Note the original poster’s comments below:

The Monday Mystery photograph for today is a photo postcard postmarked “Atlanta May 1919” and captioned “3002 – Infantry Drill – Port Arms.”… The postcard is addressed to Gertrude Jackson in Macon, from her brother, who inscribed it to “my dearest little sister”.  The brother may have been named Clarence, (although it looks to be signed “ChailXX” and I thought perhaps “Charles” if that “i” is really an R, but the last letters are rubbed off).  I did find a Gertrude Jackson in Macon with a brother Clarence in 1910 — BUT the writer is not the mystery.

The military housing and trees look similar to images I’ve seen taken of Atlanta’s Camp Gordon, where a large number of African American soldiers received war-training during WWI.

Can’t help wondering if this is really an image of Camp Gordon and if a young Elbert CODY III or Zack JONES is among the men running through their Infantry Drill? Or if Gertrude JACKSON in Macon, and her brother knew any of my people there?

I plan to poke around to see what I find. Stranger things have happened!:)

Luckie

3 thoughts on “Miltary Mystery: WWI 1919 Atlanta Infantry Drill

  1. Thanks! I’ll definitely keep you posted! Do you have a scan of the back of the card? I’d love to get a look at Clarence/Charles handwriting?!:)

  2. Pingback: Miltary Mystery: WWI 1919 Atlanta Infantry Drill – Take II | Where Honor Is Due: Our Men of Military Service

Leave a Reply

